Newbie needs help with regimen, breakage, etc!!

Raine054

Hi everyone!!

I'm so excited to be here. I've been stalking this forum for a few months now and I finally decided to join.

I'm 3c/4a bone straight relaxed with who recently moved to Wisconsin. My hair is MBL but in need of some serious help!!

I'm just coming out of a 3 month stretch and I would've stretched longer if my hair were not breaking so bad. Ever since moving here, my hair has been dry, brittle, and I lose clumps of it at a time. The last time I washed, I clarified with baking soda, and DC'd and my hair was still matted and tangled. I use Motions CPR and Vitale Olive Oil Mayo conditioners and it never failed me before. I literally lost 2 fistfuls of hair that time and my ends practically vanished. I've never tried to grow my hair and I don't baby it like I should..Now I feel stupid for taking my length for granted.

I relaxed today and I'm going to start fresh. It's already moisturized and bunned!! I did trim 1.5-2 inches and though the ends are still thin, I also dusted and am pretty sure they are no split ends.

I mostly need help with finding the right products....which is best for moisturizing...which is best for tangles..

Some of you have already helped even though you don't know it. I'm excited to see what my journey here will bring...Here is my hair as it looks today

Last edited:
Hi, sheny057!!!

I'm not relaxed, but I'll try to help you as best as I can. What is your regimen? What products do you regularly use? If I knew those things, I'd better be able to tell you whether I thought it was a moisture or protein issue.

I don't really have a strict regimen. Its changed. Before I move here I used Tresseme Shampoo (the smoothing one) and DC with Motions CPR or Vitale Olive Oil Hair Mayo.

During the week I would use The ORS Olive Oil hairdress, oil moisturizing lotion and Profectiv healthy ends. I use a lot of product too....mines go fast.