Newbie: I flat iron almost everday. Am I killing my hair?

Bella_Atl

Hi!! I'm a newbie to this board. I've been lurking since July. I LOVE THIS BOARD!! I've been searching the boards for a good heat protectant and I noticed that there is a strong consensus not to flat iron more than once a week.

My hair type is 3a at the crown and in the 2's everywhere else. It was WL until I was 18 (36 now) then I started to color it, bleach highlights, then relax it (all in that order...arrrghh!) So for the past 15 years I have been in the cycle of ruining my hair, cutting it all off, getting weaves, growing it out and the starting it all over again.

After a 2 inc pixie cut in Jan 2007 and finding LHCF, I decided to take out my weave this past August and give a go at taking care of my own hair. My hair had never been healthier!! I'm at full APL. (Had to chop off 4 inches of split ends and bad perm) I DC (never did that) Bought a steamer(I love it more than my man) Roller set, saran wrap, etc. Everything I learned on this board. After trying the Sabino, Henna, and Coconut milk I did throw in the towel and perm my hair.:-( But I did it correctly this time with ORS..thanks LHCF!