Newbie Here...I Have To Cut It All Off...I Need a Bit of Encouragement...

Trillion

Hello ladies,

I haven't been here very long, but I've learned a lot from all of you. About 1 1/2 years ago, I went to a beautician who permed my hair, and her shampoo tech ruined it. Right after the perm the tech took a plastic brush and SCRUBBED my head. When I got up I could feel my hair was thinner. From that point on I have experienced considerable breakage. My aunt is a beautician and she does my hair every two weeks and shes been using protein shampoo and reconstructor and I've been taking hair vitamins but nothing is helping it. She said the next time I get a retouch she's going to have to cut it to shoulder length. Right now its a little bit above my shoulder blade.

I really want to cry right now but I understand it has to happen or else I will be bald. My hair has been twice as thick as it is right now.

Can I ever expect this broken hair to grow back and my hair to thicken up? I know hair grows about 1/2 inch a month, I'm going to work dilligently to get it back to my desired length within 1 1/2 years time with proper care.

Thanks for listening and I look forward to your comment and encouragement.

If you were born with thick hair, trust me it will get back thick. I have used all types of hair dyes and perms. I remember I dyed my hair six times in two days to get the right color. When that didn't work I mixed clorox bleach with conditioner thinking that would lighten it. To make a long story short, my hair was so thin it looked like a mohawk in the middle. I started using the profectiv hair grease and it thickened back up in 6 months.