Newbie here!...Having lots of problems.

swtgalnj

First I just wanted to say hi to all. I've been peeping around for a long time and just decided to join. I'm used to getting perms every 6-8 weeks but the past two times I've decided to stretch. My last perm I went 12 weeks and right now I'm at 16 weeks. I decided to wash my hair last night, which I do every week or so and it was a nightmare. I'm just barely brastrap and sooooo much hair came out during the whole process. My deep con silicon mix was my only saving grace that allowed me to comb through all the new growth. I assume my hair is 4a/b. After I washed it I had no idea what to do with it.

Basically I need some advice on air drying. I blow dried and flat ironed and broken and shedded hairs were all over the sink. It was so dry and brittle after blowdrying i decided to kill it with some more heat by using my chi. I know I did some serious damage.

What airdrying techniques do you guys use??? I feel like I just took a giant step backwards in my attempt to have healthy hair.

Don't blow dry! I'm a newbie too but I have found that when I strech the blow dryer + comb is not my friend. I just let it air dry free and then flat iron it. It reduces heat damage and shedding. Also, I have found that bantu knots and twist outs are better for my hair at that point in a strech. I manipulate the hair while it is still wet and easy to work with and then finger comb it after it dries. I don't see that many hairs in the sink with this method. I'm a 4a/4b too. Hope this helps!

swtgalnj said: