Newbie here! Any ladies still using JBCO?

GoodGyrlNC

Are any ladies still using Jamican black castor oil? I just received mine last night and attempted to oil my scalp with it, but didn't care for the smell.
Anyone see growth from this? How are you using it?

Welcome! I only use it to seal once in awhile, but I mainly use it on my hairline to thicken it up. I'm sure others will chime in soon.

Hi and welcome newbie. I don't use it but there are a lot of ladies who use it. Hopefully they'll chime in.

I am currently using it to keep new growth soft. I also use it in prepoos. To me it's really too thick to do anything else with. For my new growth I apply activator to new growth only with the Castor Oil.

:welcome: I use it to seal and on my edges. I mix it with Jojoba or coconut oil to thin it's consistency.

Last edited:
I apply JBCO to my wet edges at night, then put a scarf on. In the morning, my edges are soft and lay down nicely. I am also seeing more growth on my temples.

Thanks so much ladies for the warm welcome and your responses! The JBCO I received had kind of a burnt, earthy kind of smell. Is that normal?

I mix it with my deep conditioners and use it in a blend to seal my hair. I also use it very lightly on my hairline. I think I'm going to mix it with a lighter oil and do an oil rinse with it too.

Nope don't have any but have been wanting to try this for atleast a yr. i wish they sold it somewhere around here instead of having to order it online.

I use it on my edges and the ends of my hair. I use this oil on my ends the most during the winter months and coconut oil on my ends during the summer months.

Welcome to the board.

I just started using it, to seal with. I've always used the clear kind and wanted to try it.