New Yarn Braids [pics]

Rei

So this is my first try attempting yarn braids, and my second time ever attempting doing any kind of braids at all (the first was an attempt at kinky twists that came out pretty ok). I learned by following BlackOnyx77's tutorial on youtube.

I had to put these in because I was just about ready to strangle my hair. We needed a break from each other before I snapped and came at it with scissors.

me-2.jpg

my hair a day before the yarn braids.

They took me about a week to do (yes, literally a week) mostly because I'm on vacation and I had been lazing about the house all week not even bothering to go outside.:blush: But I finished it by the weekend and had been meaning to make a post ever since.

14571825383_ORIG.jpg

14571825378_ORIG.jpg

I used brown Red Heart Acrylic yarn that I got from a random sewing supply store.

14571825391_ORIG.jpg

I look really tired in this :ohwell: this was taken just after I had finished breathing in all the darn fumes from burning the ends

Image50.jpg

close up of the texture. They look a lot like dreads, which is why I was interested in doing them.

14571825372_ORIG.jpg

someday my hair will be long enough to do this with my pixie braids:drunk:
14571825375_ORIG.jpg

I've been moisturizing them with this variant of African Braid spray that does not contain glycerine, since I live in not-so-humid-right-now NYC and also-not-so-humid-right-now Philadelphia depending on what week it is:rolleyes: I've also been baggying them every night to combat some of the drynesss from the yarn. What I like the best about these braids is that they don't get frizzy, and only start to look messy at the roots. What I dislike about them is that they pick up lint, which is kind of gross.

You are a STRIKING beauty! You did an awesome job!

I L:love:VE yarn braids myself, I love the way they allow you to have the loc'd experience without the commitment....I could see myself rockin this eventually.