New to LHCF and going natural....

ingenious_mind

Hello ladies :spinning:

I'm new to LHCF and I want to go natural. I've had permed hair since I was 11 years old( I'm now 22).I've played around with the idea for 2 years and I've finally decided that I'm no longer perming my hair. I go to a dominican salon faithfully every 2 weeks, and usually get a deep condition( avocado or nexxus emergency), and a blow dry to the roots. My hair falls just below my shoulders, but over the years I realized it seems to get thinner and not very much longer.(I just want healthy hair that grows!!!)My last perm was sometime around the last week of Dec. 2008 and I usually can do a 4/5 month stretch before perming again. Is it ok for me to still go the salon to blow dry my new growth??? I was thinking of doing this till about May and then trying braids, twist-outs, and other protective styles.I have so many questions....Is it ok 2 keep washing/conditioning every 2 weeks?(I've read that a lot of people condition every week). Also what conditioners, shampoos do you all recommend?I also noticed for years now, that my new growth in the front of my head is straight and the back half and along the hairline is wavy.Is there any way I can revert this?

All positive advice and comments are welcome....I know you all have probably heard these questions and answered them before but I'm new to maintaining my hair(and going natural) so advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
~ingeniousmind~

Welcome Ingenious Mind!

My suggestion to you is that you check out the Transitioners Support Thread. Every lady here has a slightly different way that they treat their transitioning hair (although there are some standard things across the board).

There you will find a wealth of information.

Good luck and welcome again!

:wave: Welcome. IMHO, every two weeks at a Dominican salon is way too much heat. A lot of women co-wash couple times a week. So weekly for you would not be problem.