new and can't get flowing hair!

wondermum

Hiya everyone, I've recently decided that I'm going to start loving my hair and taking care of it well so I've read loooads and you guys all seem to know pretty much everything! Just a prewarning about me I am very new to the taking care of my hair thing I just used to go to the hairdresser with terrible hair and come out looking amazing!

So anway... my hair has been relaxed for nearly 3 years, and have been relaxing at home (well a friend has done it) for about a year. However my hair is straight but not silky and flowing! I have tryed just about everything that I've found to get it this way but seem to be going round in circles :ohwell: I have uploaded a couple of pics on my album and if anyone could give any sort of hints where I'm going wrong it would be highly appreciated! :grin:

Ellie x

just bumping and adding my regimen :)

Moisturising Shampoo: Once a week (beginning of the week)
Co- Wash: Once a week (mid week)
Moisturising DC: twice a week
Clarifying Shampoo: Once a month
Protein DC: Once a month
Moisturise & Seal: Twice a day

Relax (yes only the new growth!): 12-16 weeks
Trim: After relaxer if needed

put my leave in conditioner, moisturising and sealing then letting it air dry... yesterday I relaxed and blowdryed and it's straight but quite stiff

I can tell you what I personally do. After I wash & condition, I let it air dry without any moisturizer. The leave in I use is Aphogee Leave In. it doesn't weigh my hair down. once my hair is completely dry, you'll already feel the softeness and see the swang. I don't blow dry. I put my moisturizer and seal when its dry completely and not a whole lot. I use satin rollers for curls and still get that full bouncy swang you're looking for. also rollerset/ seran wraps are really good for that full & bouncy effect.

sunnieb is also a good contact to tag you in all the relax hair threads. Hopefully she comes in here a little later. GOOD LUCK AND WELCOME!