Naturals who straighten more than 1x per month. HELP!!!!!

LunadeMiel

Are there any naturals here who straighten more than once per month? I’ve been fighting this battle with SSKs for the past two years and it has become extremely frustrating. My hair is extremely porous so retaining moisture is also a big problem. I’ve come to realize that when my hair is straight (meaning the cuticles are sealed) I retain moisture so much better. My hair does not do well in braid/twist outs :nono: For some reason this in between straightness causes my hair to knot/tangle terribly. In addition to the knotting, my ends revert much faster when I don’t seal the cuticle (i.e. with heat). My only other option is to wear my hair curly 100% of the time. This however, causes a massive amount of SSKs. These knots are problematic because they eventually break off or catch on other unaffected strands which in turn cause split ends. Therefore, I’ve decided to straighten my hair with each wash. Ideally, I would only be straightening once per month but I can’t bear waiting more than one week between washes. So…. My plan is as follows.

• Wash
  • Apply reconstructor (heavy)
  • Deep condition
  • Rollerset
  • Flat iron with maxiglide (with steam) on 3. This is just enough to seal the cuticle.
What do you ladies think? Is this recipe for heat damage? I’d rather deal with SSK than heat damage.

Use a really good heat protectant.

If you don't use too much heat, I think you will only loosen your curl pattern slightly. I don't think it will be that big of a change as long as you keep the heat low.

Use a really good heat protectant.

If you don't use too much heat, I think you will only loosen your curl pattern slightly. I don't think it will be that big of a change as long as you keep the heat low.

I really hope this doesn't happen. Certain sections of my hair are already loosely curled. Any looser I won't be able to blend it in with the rest of my hair :(