Natural; need help improving individual twists

anniev2

(this is my first time doing all of this so i'm open for tips, criticisms, suggestions, etc.)

Today I cowashed with cheapy conditioner and I wore my hair in a pony puff. I used some Fantasia gel to twist a few curls in there so it wouldn't just look like a mass of puffy hair. Prior to that I added some Herbal Essence Long Term RElationship (LTR) to the ends..just because I thought I should. I detangled only with a shower comb, nothing else.

Tonight, in prep for work tmrw I decide I want to do two strand twists. (I realize this is NOT low manipulation). So I use a Denman 3-Row Styling comb for detangling, add a little more LTR, a little s-curl here or there and castor oil here or there.

I say here or there because I really was not consistent with it. Being that it was my first time, I was sort of scattered.

Now my twists look like twists coming out of individual TWA's. Did I do something wrong? I thought I twisted to the scalp but they're still pretty puffy. Ive seen pics of other members' twists and they look different.

What can I do to make my twists tighter at the root?
Will more of, less of or a different product help me in anyway?
Should I seal with oil as I work with wet hair or is that momre effective on dry hair?
does my hair need to be stretched more?

Any tips you have would be great. Thank u!!

My twists still look a hot mess so I can't help you that much. I will say that every time you try to do it, write down the products you use and the method. That way if it works out really well you'll know how to duplicate it.

Hi Anniev2

Since you're just starting to wear twists, a heavier gel could provide more hold. You might need to use more tension starting from the root to keep them from being puffy. Hold the two-strands of hair firmly, closer to your scalp when starting out and continue down to the end of the twist...it takes practice, but eventually you'll get the hang of what your hair needs.