Natural Hair Salon Prices are Expensive

Country gal

I am so surprised that getting my natural hair would cost me so much money. This stylist I talked to today says for me to get 2-strand twists it will cost me $80 :confused: . It just seems taking care of natural hair is so expensive. How much do you ladies pay for your natural styles?

I know what you mean, that's why I started learning how to style my own hair. I remember I use to pay $40 for cornrows, now I do them myself

yeah, its no better around here....everyone raves about jill scotts salon (duafe) but i cant be paying all that money!!! :(

Shatani- how much are the prices quoted in her salon? I may have to just get braids.

Shatani said:
yeah, its no better around here....everyone raves about jill scotts salon (duafe) but i cant be paying all that money!!! :(

i forget the exact prices, and they dont seem to have them on the website....but i know its A LOT for just simple two-strands....the only thing i would go there for is color...thats something im willing to pay to have done right....

Nefert- Your hair looked good at the last LHCf meeting. Remember I wanted to touch it but didn't because that is not cool. Did you braid it and set it first?

Nefertiti0906 said:
I know what you mean, that's why I started learning how to style my own hair. I remember I use to pay $40 for cornrows, now I do them myself

This is interesting. The entire reason for me to go natural would be for me to be completely salon-free! They probably are relying on the fact that many people do not know how to take care of their natural hair.

ITA.

I would NEVER pay someone to do twists when I can do it myself in an hour or so (quickie job) ...course I haven't done it in a while because I'm lazy....

I only go to the salon for a wash and set/blow out and trim, which isn't nearly as expensive as getting a "natural" style.

I haven't been to a salon in over 2 years!