My Dear Aubrey Organics GBP almost gave me a setback

poookie

this might come off as blasphemy to a lot of you AO lovers. so my apologies :)

and let me start off by saying i LOVE AO GBP. i've been using it on a regular basis for the past 3 months following the instructions on the bottle. I'd apply it on dry hair for no more than 20 minutes, rinse, and enjoy soft, fragrant hair.

but nooo, last night, I decided to go the extra mile and leave it on overnight! I applied the product to my dry hair in sections, put a shower cap on, *fell asleep*, and woke up to a mild headache and mushy, spongy hair that was entirely TOO soft to detangle!

i must have been in the shower for an hour, gently detangling tiny clumps of tangles that hadn't been in my hair before. my hair had no slip, and felt overmoisturized. i ended up having to do a protein treatment (Aphogee's Keratin 2 min.), and letting it dry fully so my hairs wouldn't keep snapping from being too mushy.

i managed to somehow get it into 2 french braids, but i just wanted to pass along the warning:

if you have fine strands, leaving Aubrey Organics GPB on for significantly longer than the instructions dictate may lead to mushy hair that easily snaps and breaks.

so don't be lazy like me! :wallbash:

I think leaving any DC in overnight is a bad idea. IMO, leaving a DC in for 20 min is more than enough. Too much of anything is never good. Hopefully your hair recovers.

hhg

Wow, I'm sorry that happened to you. I went to bed with GPB and Giovanni Magnetic Restucturing the day before my press and my hair was fine. Maybe the Giovanni undid any damage that overnight GPB might've done. I also shampooed with strengthening Garnier so maybe that helped a bit. :scratchch

Thanks for sharing though. I'll keep this in mind and never take that chance again.

I have never been able to DC or baggy overnight without the same thing happening. Glad you were able to avoid some serious trouble...