Lye relaxer leaving hair hard?

sunshinelady

Hey guys,

A quick question, does a lye relaxer leave anyone else's hair hard? I texlaxed yesterday and my hair is so hard. I can't figure it out. Did I do something wrong or should I be using no-lye? Also, Should I follow up with a protein or moisturizing conditioner?

I thought lye was supposed to leave your hair softer?:ohwell:

I hope you get your answer, I was planning on texlaxing soon with SE as well.

Since I'm still somewhat of a :newbie:.......I'm not a hair expert or genius...lol....but from what I've been reading on here so far.......Lye relaxers are suppose to be easier and better for the hair, but harder on the scalp......and No-Lye relaxers are suppose to be easier and better for the scalp, but harder on the hair. So maybe the type of relaxer you used wasn't the best for your hair. And also.....I think I read somewhere that you shouldn't do a protein conditioner until like a week after you relax. I'm not too sure on that part.......so dont quote me on that.:perplexed

Yes you are suppose to do a protein tx after you relax your hair b/c the relaxer strips your hair of protein so you have to restore it back in you should invest in Aproghee 2 min recon you are to put this on right after you wash your hair w/neutralizing shampoo let it sit on for 2min or 5min if you are exp.serious breakage and also still give your self a DC and maybe treat your hair to a hot oil tx and trust me when I say you will be in for a suprise Major softness and shine:yep::yep:

Bump, 90 views and only 7 responses, three of which are mine?

Please respond. Let me know if you need additional information or anything else.

hi,
I think you should have deep conditioned with a moisturising conditioner particularly if the protein treatment you did has keratin as one of the ingredients.