Long Distance Relationship dilemma!!

vsschick

jusme.jpg

Hi guys, I really have been extremely confused about a long distance relationship that I've been in. First off, I'm 21 and about to finish an Engineering degree next April. I've been in a long distance relationship with a guy I love very much for the past 5 years. (I'm in GTA Canada and he's in New York). Since I was a student and he was doing min. wage jobs we weren't able to see each other often and that sometimes put a strain on our relationship. The main dilemma now is that I am considering taking a job with a company called Schlumberger as a Field Engineer, however after much research I noticed that it is a company where you have little or no time for family friends or boyfriends since most of your time is spent at work. My first thought was to try getting relocated somewhere in the US and maybe he can come there and we can live together but with the nature of the job we still won't have much time together. The relationship has been long distance for so long and I was hoping that when I graduated it would be possible for us to finally start living together. Personally I don't know what to do and I'm really stressed out about this. I want a well-paying job but I also want my man..how do I have both under the circumstances? Any advice would be greatly appreciated..

Gosh, this is a really tough position to be in.

I would say that since you are so young you may want to focus on your career first. Are you able to relocate to a position in the same state he is in?

Well yea I am young I suppose and I don't necessarily need to relocate in the same state that he is in..he's not too picky as long as we can be together. It's just the nature of the job I'm worried about and this is really the only offer I have before I graduate so far

You have a great future ahead in engineering..definitely little time for a love life unless you make the time for it. I may be a prude but...PLEASE DO NOT SHACK UP WITH THIS MAN!!