LDR with no end-date?

aribell

formerly nicola.kirwan
Hi Ladies,

I could use some different perspectives. After a couple of years, a friend of mine and I have finally gotten on the same page with respect to wanting to pursue a relationship with one another. However, at present we are about 900 miles apart and we both have reservations about starting the relationship.

I'm willing to put in the work, and go back out east to visit often anyway, since that's where we both went to school and where I worked after I graduated--so I still have a lot of connections there and plan to move back when I graduate from grad school in about 2.5 years.

He's finishing up his last semester of a masters program there, but is looking at professional schools or Ph.D programs out east which would commit him to at least another 3 years there. For various reasons, it wouldn't make much sense for him to come here, especially since I don't even plan to stay here beyond school.

Anyway, we're both still trying to decide if we want to go ahead and try...but his hesitance is about the distance and mine is about the time. I can't imagine going into a relationship that I know for certain will be long distance for at least another 2.5 years...and depending on what he decides to do now, potentilly longer than that. His problem with it doesn't seem to be the time, but the fact that he's had bad experiences with LDRs before, lost good friendships, and so is hesitant about this one.

I don't want to lose the relationship, think it could be great, and I'm willing to do what it takes (I think--haven't been there before), but is this distance and time combination doomed from the start?

Unfortunately, I think he's right. 6 months or a year, I could understand. But to start off as a LDR and know that you wont be with one another for at least another 2.5 years is extreme.

Not necessarily...