Ladies who take vitamins

MeechUK

MeechUK
I was researching vitamins and hair loss and was shocked to learn that taking more than the RDA for Vitamin A, ie.200mg, could lead to hair loss! Do any of you using vitamins check the RDA on the vitamins you take?

anything in excesive quantities is harmfull to the body. i do believe you can exceed the RDA but not to insane levels obviously.

disclaimer- i am not a doctor (lol)

I purposely don't take any vits that contain vitamin A or any other vitamins you can overdose on. That's too much to think about and I don't have time :lol:

Interesting...my supplements combine gives me 90% of the daily value of Vitamin A so the excess will be coming from my diet. I'll be switching my multi-vitamin soon anyway which should bring it down to 70%. I'm good on everything else.

I take a prenatal (no, I'm not preggers) that has 4000 IU. About 50% of the daily value, but it's only about 2mg. It's actually less.

I'm certain that someone will correct me if I'm wrong, but as I understand it, the RDA are the minimum requirements. One must certainly be careful to not overdose on fat soluble vitamins like A and others like B and C will flush from your body.

I'm certain that someone will correct me if I'm wrong, but as I understand it, the RDA are the minimum requirements. One must certainly be careful to not overdose on fat soluble vitamins like A and others like B and C will flush from your body.

You are correct, when taking vitamins I do understand the importance of vit overload, but also read your body will only absorb what it needs and will flush the excess out!

I was researching vitamins and hair loss and was shocked to learn that taking more than the RDA for Vitamin A, ie.200mg, could lead to hair loss! Do any of you using vitamins check the RDA on the vitamins you take?