Is it possible to have damaged your scalp beyond repair ...

legaldiva

If so, does that mean that hair won't grow from those areas? My man saw my thinning hair in the front and sides. He was trying to be nice about it, he knows how sensitive I am about my hair. But he saw it and commented and I bursted out into tears. This patch of hair that circles my head and it's really short in this area like TWA length. I think it's alopecia. I've been MTG-ing and it's only been two weeks ... but I don't see any progress. What if my hair can't grow? :( The thing about that part is it was bad before but it's gotten worse since I started taking care of my hair three months ago.

I'm no expert....

but if there's hair there I doubt it's permanently damaged. I guess you'd have to describe it in more detail. But unless you're seeing scalp in that area and have been for some time, it sounds like damaged hair not a damaged scalp.

my oldest sister's hair can not handle any type of chemical service. she went natural because she had too and has since locked her hair. Texturizers and relaxers, colors, etc. all lead to breakage no matter how many different ways she tried it. there were always areas that broke down to twa length.

my youngest sister, who is also natural and locked, could do whatever the heck she wanted to her hair and it would thrive.

hth,
~p1

I did! It was useless. The derm told me it "might be alopecia" and that I should try some OTC Rogaine. I am fed up. I may go see a regular doc and have them run tests to see if I'm deficient in anything. I am iron deficient so I take supplements that have them in. I also take biotin, b compex, flax seed oil. I don't know. But, the whole chemical thing may be it. It is so short that even when I stretch to relax that part means I am putting relaxer directly on my scalp.