Is dying your hair DARKER with permanent color still damaging?

soslychic

I know that to go lighter, the chemicals have to somehow "lift" your hair. However I wanted to use the Textures and Tones in silken black which I've used before and I love the dark shiny results. However I don't want to damage my hair and I haven't dyed it for awhile for that very reason. Rinses come off on my pillow and towels and I can't really stand that at all. Does anyone have any info on this? I tried to search but couldn't find anything exactly answering this question. Thanks!!! :-)

Well I cant speak for the Textures and Tones, but I use Bigen permanent...my hair is super shiny black and i havent had any breakage from it. I'm no hair expert, but its been my experience that lifting does damage it more than depositing a color, but both can be drying.

Last edited:
Well I cant speak for the Textures and Tones, but I use Bigen permanent...my hair is super shiny black and i havent had any breakage from it. Do a search on this one. HTH

I've used that before and LOVED the results. I am concerned about the level of PPD in it however. I had no allergic reaction before but allergies can be developed suddenly and I have extreme allergic reactions to some things!

oh yeah ive heard of the allergies people can develop. I cant let go of it no matter what! I used to use other permanant blacks and my hair STAYED dry!

oh yeah ive heard of the allergies people can develop. I cant let go of it no matter what! I used to use other permanant blacks and my hair STAYED dry!

OH gosh, stop it. Don't make me go out and get some Bigen when I already bought 2 boxes of T & T! :D:D

The peroxide levels in the dark colors are lower than in the colors that lighten hair, so I would say you could use it and get little to no damage. :)