How do you handle the negative people in your (dating) life?

MissMariee

A little background: I'll be 21 next month. I have a two year old, his dad & I split up in October. I dont go out much without my son so I'm fairly new in the dating scene.

Now, my stepmom and dad split up over a year ago. Shes been in my life since I was two, we're very close. But it seems as if she downs every guy I go on a date with. Wenesday night I went out for dinner with this guy. He seems great, involved in church, working, going to school etc.. This morning Im telling her about how much I enjoyed my time with him & rather than be happy for me, Shes grilling me about if he has a gf, hes probably looking for "one thing" oh "just be careful" in a condescending way.. I know alot of this comes from her relationship with my dad because he didnt treat her great. But I mean I'm still young.. Im trying to stay open minded that all men arent the same.

How do you deal with these "negative nancys" in your life?

Sometimes family memers really mean well but can come off as just straight negative. You just have to show them that you're making better choices and they will start trusting your judgment better. Not sure if you made bad choices but I'm assuming your aunt doesn't trust that you can pick a good one.

Honestly, if I had a daughter I'd tell her the same things she's telling you. But maybe the way she's doing it isn't supportive. You can always keep the details to yourself until you've really got to know the person so you won't have to go through the grilling if it doesn't work out. If he turns out fine and she meets him then she'll see the same good guy you did.

Just keep their advice in your back pocket and use your own judgment as you date and learn. They're really just looking out for you but they don't realize how negative it comes off. We all are going to do what we want to do anyway, right? I know I do :drunk:

Last edited: