How do you forgive?

ocean74

I have been holding a grudge against a relative for about 10 years:nono: and I just feel I need to forgive her. I've prayed about it but I just can't let it go and I really do feel it's holding me back in life...I speak to her but I just can't be around her for long bc I start having flashbacks and my entire attitude change for the worse...

I don't like that feeling... Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance...

You have to pray to God and ask him to give you the strenghth to forgive.

How could we ask God to forgive us of our sins and tresspasses if we can't even forgive our fellow man?

We have to be imitators of Jesus Christ, in the model prayer Jesus said, "forgive us our debts as we have also forgiven our debtors. For if you have forgiven men their tresspasses, your heavenly father will also forgive you, wheareas if you do not forgive men their tresspasses, neither will your father forgive your trespasses.

When you get a chance read also Mark 11:25

As imperfect humans, we have many faults. We can never pay back to God the huge debt we have accumulated because of transgressing against him. All we can do is seek his forgiveness.

But there comes a point where we have to move on and forget the past. God forgives us, for we sin everyday, so what makes us better than God if we can't even forgive our own brothers or flesh in blood.

"...I speak to her but I just can't be around her for long bc I start having flashbacks and my entire attitude change for the worse..."

Ocean74 when u pray about something, you have to act in harmony with your prayers because if you don't, you allow time for the Devil to set in. And that grudge can turn into hate and Lord only knows what satan is capable of doing when he sets in. So in other words, you are making Satan happy not God because those are Satan the Devil qualities.

So you have to search and reach deep inside your heart and forgive.

Last edited: