How do you expect from a single guy when it comes to cleanliness??

jenny87

So this guy invites me over to his place and I say okay.

He has the biggest cat I have ever seen and his place smelled like cat, I saw some huge cobwebs, and on the way out I saw the most disgusting litter box I have ever seen. He is also a mechanic by trade and 23.

So half of my friends are saying I should stop talking to him because of the problems I had with the way his house looked. But the other 1/2 are saying "he's a single guy and he lives alone what did you expect??

Thoughts?? Should I keep talking to him, or kick him to the curb??

Sent from my N850 using LHCF

Last edited:
That's disgusting. I would probably cut and run. It's hard to teach someone who is messy how to be clean and you are not his mother. :nono:

Sent from my iPhone. Excuse the typos!

He probably needs a maid to come there once a month. I expect it to smell relatively fresh in there. Bathroom can't smell like pee or have random stains. Use of the dishwasher. No random clothes on the floor. Really just basic stuff; I don't expect everything to be scrubbed down.

I have stopped dating someone for that reason. I expect a single man's home to maybe be a little untidy, but not disgusting. And I expect that he would clean up before I come over. I would be grossed out, and I would be concerned about his hygiene if he keeps his house like that.

Sent from my HTC Evo

Messy is one thing, dirty is another. I'm lucky to have dated neat men where I've been the messy one. However, I will say there was ONE dude....whoa, it didn't last long and not because of that but yyyyyyeah, I might not do that again.

I've spent time in someones house where is was untidy and needed hoovering before but I won't do it again.
If it's dirty I would leave but I would let him know why I was leaving. So if he want's me over again he will make an effort to clean it.