How do I heal from this?

mrselle

I’m not really sure how to word this…I guess I’m looking for guidance. What is the right way to handle a less than stellar relationship with parents? I love my parents, but since I can remember there have always been issues with our relationship. Particularly my mother, but lately some of it has transferred over to my dad. In the past my dad has said that I am a burden, told me that I am just like my aunt (in his eyes she never really amounted to much) and over the past year there have been a host of other comments he has made to me that are quite bothersome. I’ve always felt like they give my brother more guidance and support than they gave me at his age. Over the weekend I was reading some of my old journals and I realized that my issues with my parents have never really changed. The issues go away for a while and then they pop up again. I thought this was something that would go away once I graduated from college, but here I am. I’m 31 years old, graduated from college eight years ago, been married for six years, have a step-daughter and 8 month old baby. But still…there are issues.