hi and questions about japanese straight perm

yokoyokogirl

Hi everyone! I'm new here and I live in Japan. (I'm an English teacher here) First, I want to say I love reading all the posts on this site and seeing everyone's beautiful hair!

Now I need major hair advice.

I'm half Mexican/Black and have super thick and curly natural hair that's almost to my shoulders...I've never had a relaxer, only colored my hair every color in the book. (I have stopped coloring my hair and now am just letting it grow out.) When I was a kid my mom did the good old fashioned press off the stove or just braided my hair with coconut oil. I really love straight flat hair!

Recently I've gotten tired of flat ironing my hair only for it to last a day or two. I have the Maxiglide, which works kinda OK. I have a Chi that doesn't do much and I'm not sure if I want to put out more money for an iron that doesn't really give me flat and straight results.

Plus I'm not ready to commit to a relaxer but I have a few friends here who have gotten the Japanese straight perm and rave about it. Most of these friends are half-Black/Japanese, so their hair texture is similar to mine. But I am worried about getting it done and being stuck with it or having my hair fall out.

Does anyone know how this perm works or anyone that has done it?

I'm going to try and upload pictures so you all can see my hair. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
URL]
August 2007 (61).jpg

curly hair photo (2).jpg
(One is my natural curly hair and the other is after I flat iron it)

I know nothing about the japanese system, but I've heard that it is quite similar to the Brazilian keratin treatment, so you may need to try the '' Search'' button on that subject, that will give you an idea. Off topic: I did not know there were some many mixed black japanese in Japan. Wow....

Good luck :)