HELP, MY HAIR IS BREAKING PROFUSELY!!

JadeFox

Hello, ladies, I am a newbie to the board and was recommended to this site by a friend of mine. My hair is texlaxed and has been shedding profusely over the last few weeks. I have historically gone between wearing my hair completely natural and texlaxing. After a BC in August of 2006, I grew my hair out and I started texlaxing in June of 2007. I have done 3 touch ups since, and I plan to touch up once a quarter.

I usually wash my hair once a week, get a deep conditioner once a month and I blow dry and flat iron after washing. I flat iron on average 2 - 3x per week. I know blow drying and flat iron seems to be a big no-no on this board, but it is quick and easy. This regimen has worked for me until about 2 weeks ago when I started experiencing severe breakage. I am wiling to admit that the blow drying and flat iron may be a source of the breakage, but I need confirmation.

Normally, I would just get fed up and do a BC, but I am determined to stick it out. Any alternatives and advice you can give to improve my haircare regimen would be greatly appreciated. I am serious about my hair now and willing to throw out my blow dryer and flat iron once I find a suitable alternative. My hair is so much thinner now due to breakage.

Hello, ladies, I am a newbie to the board and was recommended to this site by a friend of mine. My hair is texlaxed and has been shedding profusely over the last few weeks. I have historically gone between wearing my hair completely natural and texlaxing. After a BC in August of 2006, I grew my hair out and I started texlaxing in June of 2007. I have done 3 touch ups since, and I plan to touch up once a quarter.