Help!Gel suggestions for natural hair!

kiara8255

I'm seven months post relaxer. I took out my two strand twists (w/extensions) this past weekend. Since then I've been wearing my hair up in a phonypony afro puff. I was at work today and happened to pass by a mirror. I almost screamed when I saw my hair! :eek: The hair that was suppossed to be gelled down was sticking out all over the lower portion of my puff. I'm surprised my poor little students weren't traumatized by their crazy looking teacher today. This morning I used the "cheap brown" gel from the beauty supply store which I know probably isn't healthy for my hair.

Please, please, please give me some suggestions for gel that will tame natural hair (and that is not so drying). What do I need to do to keep my hair down? :confused: I'm new at this...please help. Thanks!

I use ampro pro style clear ice gel from any BSS. It has no alcohol in it, its not greasy, and no flakes. I mix my gel with mango butter, and put a silk scarf on my head for 5-10 mintues. My hair is still soft but the frizz lays down.

I like elasta's Mango butter, not a gel but it's very moisturizing and works like a pomade, it really holds down my NG, provides moisture and shine, I'm also 6+ months post relaxer.

I also like elasta's glaze--it's a clear pomade or Aura humectant pomade which is also clear these products really holds down my thick type 4 NG.

I'm 10 months post relaxer and this is what I do.

1. Put on a little Elasta QP Mango Butter to moisturize.
2.Put on a little Fantasia Frizz Buster Straightening Gel. This gel is great. It doesn't dry out the hair or leave it feeling nasty and greasy.
3. Put on a silk scarf which isn't taken off until I leave the house. That usually isn't until 20 0r 25 minutes later.

My hair stays down all day and the definition is amazing. Waves galore!

kiara8255 said: