Help for someone who can't decide!

Yen Oak

Sorry if this is long, but this is my first official post! :grin:

For the past two years I have gone back and forth between relaxed and natural hair. After a stressful divorce (back in 2007), I began losing my hair. After checking me for thyroid issues and anemia, my doctor concluded that I was losing my hair due to stress and I should lay off the chemicals for a while. I did my first BC on my 31st birthday.

Since then I have texturized, relaxed, and BC'd back to natural a couple of times. My 33rd birthday is approaching this weekend and I am having issues again. Right now my hair is relaxed, but I can't do it to save my life!!! I am a slave to my stylist (always have been except when natural). It's very short right now, from multiple BC's over the past two years. I am beginning a new job next Monday and would love the ease of being able to get up and go like I did when natural.

I guess my dilemma is...I want my hair long again. Like it was prior to my divorce and the stress of losing my hair. My new boyfriend and mother (who both love my hair in a TWA) are trying to convince me that I should go back to natural. They say that my "relaxed" years are over...and I should not try in vain to regain something that may not be for me anymore.

I have an appointment on Thursday to get my hair done. I'm scheduled for a relaxer (8 weeks post), but I'm hesitant. Something is telling me not to do it again. However, I'm worried that my hair will never grow long in its natural state. I have attached pics so you can see my natural texture.

Okay...I'll stop now because I'm rambling! Any advice or suggestions from those of you who have gone back and forth with this issue? Also, I would love to hear from those who had to mentally transition from having long relaxed hair.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 6 months no relaxer_July 30.jpg
    6 months no relaxer_July 30.jpg
    90.9 KB · Views: 79