HELP: At a growth STANDSTILL!

coilsgonewild

Hi All,

I am a newbie to the site, this is my first post... I am sooooo EXCITED! Hello Ladies(and gents)!

So a little about my self, I have been natural for about two years now. I have 4b/4c, collar bone length hair and I really feel like I am at a stand still. All my life, with relaxed and natural hair, I have never been able to grow my hair beyond collarbone length and I am seriously starting to think it is not a possible. :nono:

I was wondering whether anyone else who has been in the same boat. What did you do to get your hair to the next level?
I really need some inspiration from some ladies who's hair seemingly wouldn't grow beyond a certain point and how they accomplished their hair goals.

start by never leaving your ends exposed... i.e. protective style like nobody's bitness'

some form of water to moisturize the hair shaft every 3-4 days

Last edited:
Welcome, OP. Yes tHENATuRALhAiRpRoJEcT is right. Once your hair gets to shoulder length, it is rubbing against your clothes besides just the fact that your two year old ends are also weaker and vulnerable to the elements.

This might not be your story but I find my ends cannot stick around w/o thwarting my growth progress. I have to regularly trim a tiny amount (dusting is what we call it) so that I can stop the splits from riding up the strand and causing it to break. There are some who don't need to trim and their hair thrives. But if you find after protective styling (hiding your ends after moisturizing them) that your hair is still at a standstill, you might consider dusting. I'll tell you now that if you haven't dusted in a long time and you decide to start, you may no see any improvement initially coz if that's your problem then your ends are usually thinner and a dust may not take away all the damage so it may take some months to be rid of damage.

Here's a thread you might find useful: http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=389082