HELP A NEWBIE OUT!!! 12 weeks post and breakage like crazy

preciousstone

Hi,
I am a newbie altho I've lurked for a while ..

Anyway, I've learned so much from these boards I finally manned up and decided to join for real.

I am stretching my relaxer and I have the worst demarcation breakage ever - long strands, kinda squiggly at the tip that was closest to scalp.

I went out and got garlic shampoo but that hasn't stopped it. I'm also DC'ing like mad.

My regimen is wash or co wash 2 or 3 times a week most of the time with DC with ORS replenishing pack for at least 20 mins. Airdry and seal with whatever oil I have - mostly coconut or wgo. I use ORS moisturizer for daily moisture.

The problem I think is, I'm 4b neck lenght and my new growth is mad tangled and wont detangle - I've tried using CON shampoo instead of the garlic but neither seems to be working. :wallbash::wallbash::wallbash::wallbash:

Unfortunately, I have to wait another 10 days or so to get a relaxer I wont have time to go to the salon till then. Please help!

I'm sure some other more skilled stretchers can come in and assist better than me but I would suggest stopping any unnecessary manipulation, maybe doing a more intense protein treatment that the ORS like Nexxus Emergencee, or perhaps relaxing earlier than you expected.

There's a stretchers support thread...I think it may be under the stickies thread.

I am also 12 weeks, going for 14. I would try to decrease the manipulation of your hair, stop using products with protein (for now), and do some moisturizing DCs and reduce the co-washing to once per week.

Last edited:
I am also 12 weeks, going for 14. I would try to decrease the manipulation of your hair, stop using products with protein (for now), and do some moisturizing DCs and reduce the co-washing to once per week.