Hear Ye! Hear ye! Calling all flatiron experts!

DoDo

Big Hair, Don't Care
I have no idea how to flat iron properly ( or what to expect and how to troubleshoot when I do).

I have coarse (thick strands) 4c hair and I am not looking for bone straight, just kinky straight. I want to be able to run my hands through my hair while still maintaining some volume and texture. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Im no expert but heres my 2 cents: Keep the temperature in the low to mid 300s range, and use heat protectant

If u need a visual for technique, YouTube has loads of videos

HtH

How do you plan on prepping your hair for the flat iron job? Blow dry, braids, bands? That is just as important as the flat iron.

I flat iron my dd's hair about once a month on freshly washed hair.

ForumRunner_20140612_071532.jpg

DoDo

ForumRunner_20140612_071551.jpg

ForumRunner_20140612_071610.jpg

ForumRunner_20140612_071648.jpg

ForumRunner_20140612_071751.jpg

The got 2 b blow dry and flat iron spray is the only thing I put on it before I finish then a few drops of pure argan oil. This worked so good I bought 10 bottles. Lol the best one so far for her.

Attachments

• 300.jpg
    300.jpg
    29.1 KB · Views: 85
I only know how to get that straight straight straight hair from flat-ironing... I used CHI Silk Infusion and I used John Frieda as my heat protectant before I blowdry. I dont do it much anymore nowadays, I havent flat ironed my hair in about 6 months. But sylver2 had a good tutorial... I learned from her... SWANGIN straight hair was always the result... She's on youtube too...

Just blow your hair out. No need to use the flatiron. A blow out on low cool setting will get your hair dry, and maintain the volume. It will also keep your from frying your hair with the blow dryer.

Oh and make sure you use a heavier oil for heat protection when you blow dry it. It will also help it stay straighter longer unless you sweat in the head.

Op the title made me laugh :lol: