Has anyone achieved healthy length by weaving???

RabiaElaine

Hi ladies....I haven't been here for a long while. But I've decided to get back to the healthy long hair goal. I recently started wearing a weave about 2 months ago. I've never done it before, however my hairdresser does great weaves (ie. most people can't tell that I'm even wearing one). I decided to try it to give my hair a rest, since it was thinning a bit at the ends. I changed the first weave after 6 weeks, since it is not recommended to stay longer than that.

I was just wondering if any of you have used weaving a method for hair rest, and growth?? Also what were your results like? Was it worth it?

Thanks

Yup, I grew 3 inches one time in 2 months. But that was with a heat wave too. I think it is a great idea as long as you take care of it and change often which you seem to be doing. So yes it was worth it.

I saw in the signature of Keisha_gurl that sew-in weaves and Motions products make her hair grow.

Bajangirl

When you wore your weave was any of your hair out?? Some of mine is out at the top to cover the tracks. How did you keep this hair healthy and strong while everything else was resting??

I had a sewn in weave once a few years ago. My hair was cornrowed in a circle around my head and I had a top portion of hair left out. Well, I had some hair sewn in with thread and left it in for 2 months. OMG,
shocked.gif
my hair was a hot mess after the weave was carefully removed. It had broken so badly it was ridiculous. My hair was very healthy prior to the weave and I continued to use oil in my hair with the weave, but careful not to use too much. It grew some, but no more than usual.

I did this to give my hair a break,
It got a break all right, It broke right off!!!
smile.gif

I have a girlfriend who swears by this method and it works very well for her. Her's stays healthy and grows alot. I don't know about inches, but she says it works because her hair is resting.

[ QUOTE ]
RabiaElaine said: