Going Natural Decision Wasn't That Deep

princessnad

I know many people have different reasons for going natural. For me, it was simply because I like the look of highly textured hair. I also like the versatility that non-chemically straightened hair offers. Some people are confused when I don't have a deep, emotional reason for going natural. I don't have any horrible chemical experiences and I don't have a deep need to get "closer to my roots" through my hair.

Did anyone else chose to go natural for "superficial" reasons such as myself (ie liking the look of it)? Sometimes I feel like a lone wolf. :ohwell:

I have been transitioning for 20 months :)

i just never saw the point in relaxers. i just kept getting them out of habbit because thats all i knew but even then i would lie to my stylists and tell her "oh, you just gave me a relaxer last month" so i would only get one 2-3 times a year. i always wanted natural hair because i love the fact that it was so big and full and it seemed like the women who wore natural hair stood our and seemed so strong and different. i just didnt know how to go about it until i found this site.

Me...I didn't like super straight hair on me. A blow dry w/ a comb attachment is enough straightness for my tastes. I prefer my hair full and big. Frankly, I feel bald when my hair is very straight. :lachen:

It's an aesthethic thing for me really. I like both the texture and color of my hair as is.