Glamour Thinks Natural Black Hair is a "Don't"!

doriannc

Hi, everyone! I'm a newbie (well, kinda) and the other day I was having this discussion with my grandmother. I'm trying to tranistion my hair out of a relaxer to a natural hairstyle. Of course, my family thinks I will never get a decent professional job with "natural" hair and I should just stick to something more "professional.

I ran across this article and wanted to know if any of you have came across this racism? And those who are natural and work in a professional world, what kept you from giving into the pressure of going back to relaxed?

Wow, This is very sad what they said...

"First slide up: an African American woman sporting an Afro. A real no-no, announced the 'Glamour' editor to the 40 or so lawyers in the room. As for dreadlocks: How truly dreadful! The style maven said it was 'shocking' that some people still think it 'appropriate' to wear those hairstyles at the office. 'No offense,' she sniffed, but those 'political' hairstyles really have to go."

I see why they won't release the name of the editior:nono:

I think it is totally racist and inappropriate. It's sad to know, but not difficult to believe, that it is 2007 and people are still calling natural hair styles, locks included, a "political style." What's political is the people who believe that all people should conform to a single set of hairstyles. I have seen many Black women with natural hair in white collar America and they all look beautiful and professional. Relaxed hair does not always equal a professional look either. Oh-- was getting mad. Stepping off of the soapbox now:rolleyes:.

Wow, This is very sad what they said...