Ghetto, Makeshift Haircare...

ComfortablyNumb

Last night I went out on and tried out a hair product that gave me the best curls I've ever had. Well, I wanted to preserve these curls for the next day but I only had a satiny scarf but no silk or satin pillowcase or bonnet that would keep my curls in tact. Being the creative person that I am, I threw my pillow with its cotton pillowcase to the side and pulled down my cotton sheet, revealing *voila* a pretty satiny mattress. This kept my curls...Woohoo!

This isn't my only ghetto fabulous hair endeavor...before I started learning about haircare, if I couldn't find a rubberband I would sometimes pull my hair back with a twisty-tie (that comes with garbage bags and on loaves of bread)

Have any of you participated in ghetto haircare? Fess up!

laugh.gif

Many, many moons ago I used to roll my hair with newspaper and pipe cleaners to make "drop curls".
blush.gif
Kind a g-fab version of Solar Rollers.
laugh.gif

I told ya'll about using plastic grocery store bags over my hands to color my hair when I didn't have gloves...

Like Supergirl said - it's the African American Way!
laugh.gif

Yes indeed. In my younger days, when I didn't have rollers, and would get my hair pressed and set, I'd use rectangular pieces of paper folded lengthwise into thick flexible strips as rollers at bedtime. I'd divide my hair into sections and roll each section over the middle of a strip, then tie the ends in a half knot to hold them in place. They worked. I'd only need to pick/lift my curls the next day.
trampoline.gif

Hey, does anyone else use the string and hotwater method to give waves to braids with synthetic extensions? I used to do that too.
grin.gif
But I don't think it was ghetto. I don't know of any other way to get the waves to look so neat. If I still wore synthetic extensions, I'd do it again today.
smile.gif
I tried it with human hair but it didn't work. Maybe I didn't give my hair enough time to dry completely.
ohwell.gif