Do You Lend Your Car Out?

QT

Do you lend your car out to your kids? Especially the ones over 19. If you do, what are the rules?

(It's a lot of backstory, this sums it up lol) I feel I maybe too strict when it comes to allowing my 21 year son to use our cars. I would occasionally let him use it for leisure, but mostly for interviews/work. My husband is the same way. I would rather help him purchase a used car vs lending mine out. He's not working at the moment (only a small unemployment funds) so its going to be awhile before he's able to meet us halfway on the purchase.

I just need some feed back on your views when it come to your vehicle.

I didn't have a car of my own until I graduated from college; however, we did an older family car that I drove my senior year in high school and on college breaks.

My mom is much stingier with her cars and rarely lets me drive them.

When I go home and visit my parents now, my dad lets me drive one of his cars while I'm there.

I don't like to share, so I'd probably help him get a cheap get-around town car for him to use rather than lend mine out.

Reactions: QT
Yes he drives it more than me. We only have one car and so I'm like I chafferned you around for 21 years it's my turn to be in the drivers set. I make him go places with me so that he can drive and not me. When I'm at work and he has the car and we work opposite end of the day so he takes the car to work until he can purchase on of his own. BTW he's 23

Reactions: QT
my parents used to let me drive their cars....it was also a safety thing, if i was going out they preferred me being safe traveling and etc

the rules were
i would ask in advance
I would put gas in the car
if i received a ticket i would pay it

...they would give us their old cars when they upgraded to a new one and we paid for the insurance which was like $100 a month that was our only responsibility if we were driving a car they gave us