Dating A Coworker

TinyT

Ladies,

Most of us spend 40 hours or more in the workplace. Some companies are large and some are small. But what I do know is that when you spend that much time with people of the opposite sex that you have things in common with, you can become attracted.

So my questions are:
  • Have you ever dated a coworker?
  • How did you maintain the decorum necessary.
  • Was the relationship affected by the size of your company, work group, whether or not you work in the same building, department, or floor?
  • How did the dating start?
  • Did the relationship last?
I spend more than 40 hours a week working. I am an engineer and most often the only woman on a team (which is kinda nice:grin:). I casually dated people who work for the same company and never had an issue. But I would love to hear from those who have done it or have considered it.

Yes, the attraction is certainly there but I've always believed it's best not to date a co-worker and I have chosen not to experience this. Although there are always exceptions, people who date one another in the workplace do not seem to have lasting relationships.

The exceptions I've seen were when one or both parties decide to leave the company while dating or before dating. I've seen couples fall in love at the workplace and even marry, but usually one partner relocates to another company or quits.

Yes i have dated a co-worker and we are still together after a year and some change.

We have over 150 employees but he works day shift on one side of the building and I work 2nd shift on my side of the building. Its weird but there are times when i don't see him at work for a week at a time because of how the building is set up and our hours so it works out great. We can't get tired of each other.