Curly Hair is Unprofessional

wyldcurlz

I wore what I thought was a beautiful braid-out style to work today. it was full but (not to full) and had beautiful curly texture. All day at work I got stares from "my peers" and one client even commented and I quote "well...that's nice, awh...hair...different, but nice." All I could say in my state of shock was "oh, yes. I have huge curly hair." (honestly, it wasn't that big, it was just typical braidout, soft tendrills, a little on the full side, but not WOW! HUGE!)

I guess I'm a little offended. In my profession everyone has sleek straight hair to go along with they're sleek tailored, black suits and heels. After today, I'm self conscious about wearing braidouts (or any curly style) to work.

On top of that my stylist (a black man) said that "I'm a professional person and I need a professional look" and that curls and braidouts aren't it!!

What's the deal? Anyone else encounter this problem? Any way around it. I keep running into road blocks on my way to healthy growth. Its frustrating!!

Pictures please. Because curly dos can be either sophisticated or casual. I need to see it.

Ask a close friend for advice. You really don't want to ruin your professional image because you're too close to the style to see it's inappropriateness.

But if you truly feel it's acceptable and professional to you , don't let those office chicks intimidate you into conformity. You can be your own person and don't have to fit into the status quo.

wyldcurlz said:
On top of that my stylist (a black man) said that "I'm a professional person and I need a professional look" and that curls and braidouts aren't it!!