Check out this lady's method of cutting SPLIT ENDS???

tiffanyoneal

For some reason I woke up thinking about split ends. I remember reading Cathy House's book and recalled her saying something about split ends split outwards and not up. I am not sure if this is correct but I tried to do a search for it on the net and read this interesting post on yahoo answers by some beautician. Tell me what ya'll think:

"i'm a hairdresser by trade, the best thing you can do without cutting the length of your hair is to take small sections of your hair and twist in one direction till it looks like a rope. The split ends should spike out of hair rope, take some scissors and trim those dead ends off! Do as often as needed just remember to only cut the split bits off. Yep your right if you dont cut them it will travell higher up the hair shaft, thats why its starting to go frizzy. Try putting conditioner all over your hair (loadz of it) put cling film round your head and leave on for half an hour. Do as often as needed and you should start to have beautifull healthy hair in no time. Dont forget always use a heat protecting spray on your hair before blowdrying and straightening. Try GHD Styling Spray its FAB! GOOD LUCK"

I think I am liking the twisting hair like a rope method.:perplexed But what do ya'll think?

and in case some of you might want to see the rest of the article here is the link: http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070622120238AAiqrpM&show=7

ETA: So if that is true...then when my stylist twists or braids my hair and clips those stray ends she is actually helping me for once. :)

Last edited:
I just relaxed today and did this method combined with the split end advice from Sistaslick's article, I was very successful with my cut/trim.

I wasn't going to trim my hair because of the stuff that Cathy Howse writes about but after reading several articles I have decided that raggedy ends and uneven hair aint cute:nono: