Can I say I'm a Newbie???

steffiejoe

Hello LHCF Sisters
I finally got up the nerve to formally introduce myself. I guess it’s only fair since I have learned so much from you ladies. I feel like I know so much about you all and how you care for your hair. I know what products you like, how often you wash/condition, and who is a product junkie. I’ve been lurking this forum heavily since December 2008. I followed some of you on you tube, stalked your Fotki’s and read your blogs.
My story is similar to others on here. I’ve been relaxed since I was 16 years old. For years I suffered setbacks and / or breakage due to lack of hair care knowledge. Don’t get me wrong I have had a stylist share bits of information with me on how to care for my hair, but she never told me everything. I now see that was to keep me coming back.
Well right before a family reunion I went in for a relaxer touch up (I had stretched for about 10 weeks). She was upset about the amount of new growth I had and told me my hair was damaged. When I left her shop she had chopped my APL hair to almost neck length. The cut was horrible and I could not style my hair. She had cut it into a v shape. Can you imagine a neck length V (not a good look)? Something you should know about me is I am very style challenged. For years I wore my hair in a precision cut bob. Very simple style just wrap at night and comb down in the morning. The cut made styling very easy because the hair would just fall into place. Well after this last hair cut I could not do anything with my hair. I was crushed and embarrassed. People asked me why I cut my hair and I played it off as if it was only hair. Deep down I was so hurt.