Bang, Bang She Shot Me Down.

fletgee

As most of you know I lost my hair to my incurable rare cancer. I have been wearing a hair scarf for about 9 years now. From BSL to less than half an inch with large bald spots. But I did manage to take care of it when it started to grow back. With the help of the ladies of LHCF. My doctors at MSKCC told me it would take a long time for my hair to regrow. I wear my scarf 24/7.

Fast forward to the other day. I tried to flat iron 2 of my back braids. It came out seriously fuzzy. But I was proud! Those 2 braids were about neck length!

I cried.

Then I ran upstairs (with my scarf on-I never leave home without it) to show my friend. Now she is only 1 of three people who know my situation. You ladies of LHCF are included in the 3. Her reaction to my hair growth was "Your hair always looks like that".

I went home, crushed. But I never let her know how her comment hurt knowing my battle to grow some hair.
The very front of my hair has an area the size of my palm with bald spots and some very soft growing hair.

Nine years. Nine fricking years! I would not wish this on anyone.

All I can say is..I'm trying, ladies.

fletgee leaves the room.

That is very insensitive & being your friend she should have compassion & be more courteous of your situation. I don't blame you. I would feel some type of way about her & sharing things with her from now on.

I DO think you should have a talk with her regarding how the comment she made about your hair made you ashamed of your hair growth process.

Best of luck & hang in there!

Her reaction to my hair growth was "Your hair always looks like that".

I went home, crushed. But I never let her know how her comment hurt knowing my battle to grow some hair.
The very front of my hair has an area the size of my palm with bald spots and some very soft growing hair.

Nine years. Nine fricking years! I would not wish this on anyone.

All I can say is..I'm trying, ladies.

fletgee leaves the room.
Awww!