Are you sure you need to detangle your hair?

Maneylovee

This is not a trend....
I have pretty thick 4a and a little 4b hair and I don't ever really detangle my hair. I just run warm/hot through my hair and it just kind of detangles itself with a little finger detangling I guess.

Hair stylist use to tell me you have to comb and detangle your hair before you wet it or else it will get even more tangled or even mat. But that's just not true for my hair. I have been doing this for a couple of years now and Ai'm disgusted with how much hair I use to lose from detangling compared to what I lose now. Also I find that cold water tangles my hair.

Has anyone experienced any of this, and are you sure you really need to detangle your hair?

Yea I don't comb my hair very often. I will detangle once a week and if I get a tangle a minute later it is there til the next time. My hair is to fine to comb.

I really need to detangle my hair. I have really fine, dense hair. I was doing the finger detangling once a week for a while and it just wasn't working for me. A lot of people like to minimize shedding. But with how much hair I have I'm usually trying to increase it, otherwise I get horrible tangles later on. But I have a friend whose hair seems similar to mine, except that her hair is a little bit thicker, but the way her strands are, she can easily detangle her hair when wet like you. So I think type factors in a lot.

Fine hair strands
ZA001117936.gif

4B natural hair
ZA001117936.gif

Hair that thinks that movies Cruel intentions and Mean girls were written about her
ZA001117936.gif

Yeah she would tangle and then become matted just for good measure in an effort to see me cry in fact she said that she wished a ninja would test her like that… This method would definitely not work for us unless she got saved, baptized in the River Jordan, and emerged born again as a new creature.

Last edited: