Any Navy Ladies Here??? Even Marine and Army Mama's!

BronxMyth

When I graduate college next year, I plan to join the Navy. I want to know how do you manage to take care of your hair, while on active duty. TIA!!!

I am not Military but I am a military spouse. I think the military is perfect for woman wanting you grow their hair. You have to keep your hair off your collar so I notice a lot of woman either wear short haired wigs, or they keep their hair in protective styles.

Well I'm a navy veteran.....when I went to bootcamp, I had to cut my hair, but it was shoulder length before I cut it, I cut it into a tiny afro....(which I did loved) It was basically I BC cuz I was relaxed.....women have to cut their hair in bootcamp....cuz the Navy believed it took up too much time. The marines and army are different the women didn't have to cut their hair. But my when my hair started growing, I kept it in a curly fro, and when I relaxed again, I was able to wear a bun.....so you can either let them cut your hair(which they do a horrible job) and let it grow out until you can bun it, or put in a weave (sew in) and let them cut that and when you finish bootcamp take out the sew in weave and wear your real hair. They don't go through your hair like stylists do, they just cut straight across(your hair has to be off your shoulders or off your collar of your uniform). But this was when I went in (2004) so they might have changed the policies now....but as far as I know the NAVY CUTS YOUR HAIR.

Navy girl here and if your hair is longer than your collar, then you have to wear a bun (or braids). As for me, this past year, I've just been keeping it braided up underneath a wig.

For bootcamp, they will cut your hair, so if your hair is long, please get like a sew in weave that can last you for two months. The only thing they'll do is cut that. after bootcamp, you are free to grow your hair all you want.

Last edited: