4B- RELAXED- WHO AIR DRY- QUESTION...PLEASE HELP

LadyZ

How do you air dry and have a smooth cuticle without roller setting?
Whenever I air dry, my hair feel rough and frizzy:look: :nono: :sad:... Even though I moisturize and seal... What am I doing wrong... Please advise me in what to do :wallbash:.... I do
tie it down with a silk scarf

TIA

i sometimes will airdry in medium sized two strand twists . i would let my hair airdry until it damp then add leave in, moisturize and do the twists. it would stay soft for the first day or so and by the end of the week was brittle. now after i wash i squeeze as much water out as i can , add my grapseed oil, and do 6 big plaits and sit under my hooded dryer. OR i just blowdry it straight. i think our relaxed hair needs some form of heat to close our cuticles because of the chemicals. i havent rollerset in a long time im thiking about getting back to that

Hey Lady,
Ok, first let me say I'm no expert at air drying, but I can tell you what I do (and I always end up with frizz too..lol). After I wash, I immediately use some type of leave-in. I was using Giovanni Direct, but I now I realize it doesn't do much for my hair, so I'm still searching.
After my leave-in is applied, I use Keracare moisturizer and then I seal with jbco. I always air dry in a bun, unless I'm doing a braidout. I have noticed that when I use jbco, and twist/or braid my ends, I end up with way less frizz. I hope this helps... :ohwell:

Thank you so much for responding...
Someone else said to apply heat(hair dryer) and that would help close the cuticle and make the hair shafts smooth down... I will try that tomorrow, and get under the dryer and see how it turns out... If that fails then I will have to go back to roller setting... which I hate to do(lazy)... This air drying that I am doing is killing my hair and I am 5 weeks post too... I can't have that:wallbash: .... I sure hope this theory is right...