4As stretching relaxers between braids

tricie

Hi, Newbie here again with more questions! :grin:

A friend of mine told me that she got braids (micro), wore them for 2 months, took them out, washed and conditioned her hair, and then had the braids done again. While that sounds like a great idea and a way to stretch your relaxer, as a 4a I couldn't even imagine not getting a relaxer after 8 or more weeks since my hair typically looks like a Brillo pad after that amount of time, and is dry and sheds before a relaxer. :ohwell:

Any advice from other 4As that have been able to do this, and are not trying to go natural? By the way, my friend's hair is definitely not 4a, maybe one of the 3s, and her hair has grown quite a bit in a year's time.

Oh, and the last time I wore braids, I had them in for 8 weeks, and had no breakage drama like some of the posts I've read about micros; I am thinking of going a bit bigger due to the advice and Robin's site.

Thanks, ladies! :D

tricie said:
Hi, Newbie here again with more questions! :grin:

A friend of mine told me that she got braids (micro), wore them for 2 months, took them out, washed and conditioned her hair, and then had the braids done again. While that sounds like a great idea and a way to stretch your relaxer, as a 4a I couldn't even imagine not getting a relaxer after 8 or more weeks since my hair typically looks like a Brillo pad after that amount of time, and is dry and sheds before a relaxer. :ohwell:

Any advice from other 4As that have been able to do this, and are not trying to go natural? By the way, my friend's hair is definitely not 4a, maybe one of the 3s, and her hair has grown quite a bit in a year's time.

Oh, and the last time I wore braids, I had them in for 8 weeks, and had no breakage drama like some of the posts I've read about micros; I am thinking of going a bit bigger due to the advice and Robin's site.

Thanks, ladies! :D