Yellow or White Shea Butter????

blkmaryland

I have been using Shea Butter off and on for several years. I'd normally purchase it from one of the street vendors during the summer at one of the festivals. I never really noticed the color but a lady that works with me sells it and she asked me if I wanted yellow or white?

Ladies...is one color more potent than the other?

White is refined and probably colerless, and oderless. Yelow is not refined and should have a smell. Un-refined yellow is suposed to be better but I cant take the smell.

Ooops I meant unrefined yellow sorry to confuse you.

Last edited:
Hi, from my experience any shea butter that is white has been refined. If it has a off-white or yellowish color it is unrefined (unprocessed which preserves the healing restorative properties of the butter). The unrefined shea butter works much better for me. I apply it to my hair and skin. I first started purchasing the white shea butter from a place called L'Occitane (specialty shop for hair/skincare usually found in malls). This product was good, however when a friend suggested I try her shea butter which was a yellowish color/unrefined, I saw the difference within a few days. The unrefined works much better for me since I have eczema. Hope this helps. Oh, A good place to order unrefined shea butter is www.natureswildchild.com. This company's shea butter is great, and the odor is very slight and disipates after it is applied.

Last edited:
Well I hear that unrefined(yellow) is better since it has all the natural properties. But choose the one that works for you.

nikki1971 said: