Why Does TSA Keep Touching My Hair!!! Help Please!!!!

mscocoface

I have been traveling for the past 3 months and I have had different hair styles, pinned up, twists, hair down, twist out, etc. All my hair ornaments have either been plastic or at the most 3 medium size metal hair pins or no hair ornaments at all. Also I am natural.

Every SINGLE time I go through one of those wave machines (I call them stickem up boxes) I am stopped and a lady has to touch my hair. Last week I could not take it anymore and I asked why is it every time I go through this machine I have to get my hair frisked? The lady looks at me smiling and says "Oh a lot of ladies get their hair checked."

Now I would believe that if I had not seen 6 other ladies come through those machines with hair claws, long curly hair, big hair everything BUT my type of hair.

I am beyond frustrated, can someone from TSA please help me understand what in the world is going on? Is it possibly because of how dense my hair is or is perceived to be in that dang machine?

I am going to be traveling quite a bit for the next 3 months so just the thought of this gets me ticked all over again.

Anyone else dealing with this?

Rant over.

I have never had my hair searched or touched by the TSA. Not even when I was using a lace wig with 6 metal clips inside of it.

I have a flight tomorrow morning so I may be proven wrong. My hair is in kinky twists.

Didn't the TSA recently detain (and later arrest) a Black woman who was smuggling drugs in her hair? That may be the reason.

I have had my head searched when my hair has been pinned up with flat twist. My bobby pins make the medal detector go off.

I had my hair searched at SFO last week. It was in a puff. If the cancer machine can see through my clothes, why can't it see through my hair? You just have to grin and bear it. The searcher was a black woman and she was pretty nice about it.

I've never had that happen and I've gone through with a half wig with the metal combs.