Who relaxes their every ever 7 weeks or SOONER?

taz007

Does anyone relax their hair every 7 weeks or sooner? If so, why? How is your hair handling it?

I am 7 weeks post and I think that I am going to have to relax my hair like soon. My new growth is starting to dred up. The longest that could ever stretch was 10 weeks and that was a bear!!

Thanx

I usually start having problems right around 8 weeks but I stretch longer with the help of HOT OIL treatments and DCing. I also do quite quite a bit of protective styling right around 10-12 weeks and up if I want to stretch longer, which I am doing right now. I am attempting to stretch 32 week this time but the longest stretch I've done so far has been 21.5 weeks. I will stretch this long but only with the help of braids and/or cornrows.

ETA: So try the hot oil treatments before you relax, okay? Let us know how it goes.

I do. I've been relaxing every 4-5 weeks for many years. I get 1/2-3/4 inch of new growth per month and that's enough for me to relax my hair. I like it manageable. I don't want to have to comb my hair out, because that's what would happen if I stretched.

My hair is very healthy doing it this way. I will never stretch my relaxer because I don't want to risk breakage.

Me, I relax once a month. I've been doing that for...I guess the past two years ever since I switched to lye relaxer. My hair is strong and I'm happy with the progress I'm making. For me, stretching would cause more trouble than it's worth because combing, washing, and flat ironing would be more difficult.

Me, I relax once a month. I've been doing that for...I guess the past two years ever since I switched to lye relaxer. My hair is strong and I'm happy with the progress I'm making. For me, stretching would cause more trouble than it's worth because combing, washing, and flat ironing would be more difficult.

Wow, your hair is really pretty!