Who Is Responsible For Planning The Wedding Anniversary?

delitefulmane

I'm a newlywed and our anniversary is coming up. I just wondering for our first anniversary should it be my husbands responsibility to plan something or should I? Or both?

I'm new to all this. Thoughts?

I can't remember what we did for our first anniversary, but I planned our anniversary last year. If your husband is not a planner, don't expect him to start now (learned this the hard way). So be prepared to take the lead. If he's anything like mine, he'll go along with whatever you say "as long as he gets to spend it with you."

I don't plan our anniversary, but from time to time, I do surprise him with a gift that he isn't expecting.
He always plans something nice. I love this!

He says our anniversary day is supposed to be all for me, and he usually goes all out.

I disagree...but just not too loudly. Lol.

On the flip side, an acquaintance planned her first and second year anniversaries with her husband. She's steamed, fully ready for a melt down for year #three if he doesn't step up and "do" something. Her words.

But I think he's going to sit back and let her handle it again this year. She took the reigns early on, and he's comfortable now.
My advice is don't start something you don't wish to continue for a lifetime. Too bad she didn't ask me before she made those plans twice in a row thinking it would motivate him. I think she was more worried about updating their facebook status with nice pictures that would show the "haters" how "in love" they are. I was like girl...oops, sorry. I see this needs its own thread. (lol)

My vote is for him to plan it or the both of you plan together. IMO if you take over and start planning now you will be planning this for the rest of your life which trust me will get OLD. Anniversary is kind of like Valentine's Day to me.
I agree with @hopeful. Get him involved in the planning right from the beginning or you will be responsible for it forever.