Where's my new growth?

CluelessJL

Hi everyone

I think this is a silly question but I'm new to all this and looking for a bit of a reassurance! I've seen some of your pictures of very distinctive new growth, and read the comments about how good it is to be able to see growth and progress. I've also read some of the posts about how important it is not to overlap relaxers and to only apply the relaxer to new growth.

I'm now seven weeks post and I took the attached photo after washing my hair this afternoon. I can't tell where the new growth is at all! Is this normal? Is it just my untrained eye?? Because I'm struggling to understand how a stylist would be able to tell where to put a relaxer (hypothetically I mean - I don't plan to relax yet). I'm so confused!

TIA :)

Attachments

• 20150301_144054.jpg
    20150301_144054.jpg
    76.1 KB · Views: 157
Serious question, I'm not trying to be facetious but if your roots look like that at 7 weeks why do you relax? Is it because you want the bone straight look? You could probably use minimal heat to achieve that look

Serious question, I'm not trying to be facetious but if your roots look like that at 7 weeks why do you relax? Is it because you want the bone straight look? You could probably use minimal heat to achieve that look

No worries, it's a fair question! And honestly, I don't have a good answer. I've never known anything about my hair, or hair types, or what I could do with my hair if I didn't relax it. I've been having it relaxed every 4-6 months since I was 12. Reading and joining this forum has been a huge revelation and I'm still thinking about what I might do with my hair in the future. I just wondered if anyone else found their new growth hard to make out during the first few weeks!

I was thinking the same thing. If that's new growth, I don't understand how relaxing benefits you.