What Is Your Opinion On Vow Renewals?

If they are done because both parties are truly happy then I'm all for them. Sometimes they are used to gloss over issues and that is when I side eye them.

With so much darkness in the world, I am all for celebrating true love!

eta: I have absolutely no experience:lachen:

I think they're fine (if that's what Y'ALL need :look:), but I think it's kinda tacky to have a whole party surrounding it. That's the couple's personal business and having a party is like trying to have your wedding all over again- IMO. Keep it to yourselves and work on the commitment to each other and strengthening the union. I have zero experience with this.

I like them and think they are beautiful for milestone anniversaries. However I don't want one for myself. My initial wedding was small/intimate but was still expensive and a lot of work. I wouldn't want to do that over again(in terms of those who treat renewals/rededications like full fledged wedddings). Also, I was very disappointed/surprised by the behavior some of my most cherished female loved ones displayed around my wedding as a result of being in their feelings about their own relationships that surfaced and got unloaded on me the month of my wedding. My husband and I shared the wedding with friends and family. We were extremely accommodating FOR FRIENDS AND FAMILY about the wedding itself, but the marriage marriage is just for us. I'll take jewelry and vacations as grand gestures. We take everyday "act right" and appreciation for marital maintenance, affirmations and reminders of what our marriage means to us.

These are just my personal feelings, no offense to anyone who believes differently: