What have I done

Naturefreegirl

I am a newbie so please help.

As I mention before that I have been co-washing and doing my hair myself, so I have jsut been doing twisting it at night and airdry while I sleep when I get up in the morning it would be curly. I did this for about two months straight.

last week I was going to my girlfirnds wedding shower I decided to get a wash and set. After my hair dried and she blow dried it also she was just shaking her head, saying what have I done with my hair, she told me that my hair was extremely dry and that my ends were open. I notice that my hair did grow, but of course she wanted to give me another cut, at this point I was very frustated :wallbash::wallbash:. So after all of this I finally agreed to to just cut of the split ends, about 6 months ago I did the bc and I colored it so after all that hard work and time spent whay would i go and cut everything of again (part of me felt like she was just saying that to get me to come back on a regular basis like I use to)

So my question to you ladies is does the airdrying really hurts the hair, and after co washing and mosterizing is it possible for the hair to still be dry like that, please help

From what it sounds like to me....you just need to clarify and do a protein treatment.

Co washing is great but what were you using. I cowash alot too but you have to clarify periodically otherwise you can get buildup that can dry your hair out. Also, you colored your hair so you might also need some protein. Protein keeps your hair stong and it helps your hair stay moisturized. Protein helps your hair hold on to moisture so if you don't have enough protein, no amount of moisturizer will help. Its all about keeping your protein and moisture levels balanced. Do a search for protein and moisture balance and you should find alot of threads about it.